The Caldecott Medal honors the artist of the most distinguished American picture books for children.

“Watercress,” illustrated by Jason Chin, is the 2022 Caldecott Medal winner. The book was written by Andrea Wang and published by Neal Porter Books, Holiday House. 

Four Caldecott Honor Books also were named: “Have You Ever Seen a Flower?” illustrated and written by Shawn Harris and published by Chronicle Books; “Mel Fell,” illustrated and written by Corey R. Tabor and published by Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers; “Unspeakable: The Tulsa Race Massacre,” illustrated by Floyd Cooper, written by Carole Boston Weatherford and published by Carolrhoda Books, an imprint of Lerner Publishing Group; and “Wonder Walkers,” illustrated and written by Micha Archer and published by Nancy Paulsen Books, an imprint of Penguin Young Readers, a division of Penguin Random House.  

Watercress Cover Image
By Andrea Wang, Jason Chin (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780823446247
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Neal Porter Books - March 30th, 2021

Have You Ever Seen a Flower? Cover Image
By Shawn Harris (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781452182704
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - May 4th, 2021

Mel Fell Cover Image
By Corey R. Tabor, Corey R. Tabor (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780062878014
Availability: Backordered; Unknown Availability Date
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 2nd, 2021

Unspeakable: The Tulsa Race Massacre Cover Image
ISBN: 9781541581203
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Carolrhoda Books (R) - February 2nd, 2021

Wonder Walkers Cover Image
By Micha Archer, Micha Archer (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780593109649
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - March 30th, 2021