Homebody (Hardcover)

Homebody By Theo Parish, Theo Parish (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Theo Parish, Theo Parish (Illustrator)
$26.99
Not in Store - Usually Ships in 2-7 Days from Warehouse

Description


In their comics debut, Theo Parish masterfully weaves an intimate and defiantly hopeful memoir about the journey one nonbinary person takes to find a home within themself. Combining traditional comics with organic journal-like interludes, Theo takes us through their experiences with the hundred arbitrary and unspoken gender binary rules of high school, from harrowing haircuts and finally the right haircut to the intersection of gender identity and sexuality—and through tiny everyday moments that all led up to Theo finding the term “nonbinary,” which finally struck a chord. 

“Have you ever had one of those moments when all of a sudden things become clear…like someone just turned on a light?”

A whole spectrum of people will be drawn to Theo’s storytelling, from trans or questioning teens and adults, to folks who devoured Gender Queer by Maia Kobabe or The Fire Never Goes Out by ND Stevenson, to any person looking to dive a little deeper into the way gender can shape identity. Throughout the book, Theo’s crystal-clear voice reminds the reader that it’s okay not to know, it’s okay to change your mind, and it’s okay to take your time finding your way home.

“We are all just trying to find a place to call our own. We are all deserving of comfort and safety, a place to call home.”

About the Author


Theo Parish is a cartoonist currently living in "the fine city" of Norwich, England, with their three cats. Driven by a passion for creating the kinds of stories they longed to see as a kid, Theo’s work is inspired by their love of fantasy and their experiences moving through the world as a queer and neurodivergent person. When not making comics, they can usually be found playing tabletop RPGs, building pillow forts, or making friends with the neighborhood cats.



Theo Parish is a cartoonist currently living in "the fine city" of Norwich, England, with their three cats. Driven by a passion for creating the kinds of stories they longed to see as a kid, Theo’s work is inspired by their love of fantasy and their experiences moving through the world as a queer and neurodivergent person. When not making comics, they can usually be found playing tabletop RPGs, building pillow forts, or making friends with the neighborhood cats.

Praise For…


A warm, affirming, gentle, honest story of a nonbinary gender journey. — Maia Kobabe, author of Gender Queer

This deeply relatable exploration of finding oneself and of giving oneself grace when the journey takes longer than expected is ideal for fans of Maia Kobabe’s Gender Queer. — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Across cool-toned pages blotted with highlights of pink is a palpable message that safety, self-love, and pride comes with defiantly building one’s sense of gender and self, an idea applicable to trans, nonbinary, and questioning youth, as well as any child impacted by cis/heteronormative expectations of gender. — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

An accessible, affirming story that models how anyone—cis or trans—can take steps toward self-knowledge and gender freedom.  — Kirkus Reviews

An uplifting, hopeful, empowering memoir that celebrates self-discovery and self-love.Alice Oseman, bestselling author of Heartstopper

Homebody is a heartfelt and joyful graphic novel about the freedom that comes with finding your self. Theo's emotive art and confessional writing blend perfectly into a breezy autobio comic I didn't want to put down. — Kevin Panetta, co-creator of Bloom

A tender love letter to the authentic self, Theo Parish's graphic memoir is a warm hug that will leave readers with a feeling of compassion and a sense of hope. — Jen Wang, creator of The Prince and the Dressmaker

Overall, an earnest and intimate portrait that adds nuance to any collection of queer nonfiction. — Booklist

The portrayal of gender identity as a journey with no set destination is affirming and reassuring, and this hopeful tone will appeal to teens. Recommended for ¬≠purchase. — School Library Journal



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063319592
ISBN-10: 0063319594
Publisher: HarperAlley
Publication Date: April 23rd, 2024
Pages: 224
Language: English