Nothing But the Bones: A Novel (Hardcover)

Nothing But the Bones: A Novel By Brian Panowich Cover Image
$28.00
Not in Store - Usually Ships in 2-7 Days from Warehouse

Description


With lyrical prose and hard-hitting depictions of the hardscrabble life in the rural south, Brian Panowich, author of Bull Mountain, Like Lions, and Hard Cash Valley, delivers a gripping new chapter in his tales of McFalls County in Nothing But the Bones.

In McFalls County, local crime boss Gareth Burroughs runs everything on the mountain. And Nelson “Nails” McKenna has been his enforcer since he was a teenager, though his heart's not really in the dirty work. Then one night in a local roadhouse, Nails goes too far, defending a woman, and even Burroughs’s reach can’t get him out of this one. With a dead body and countless witnesses, Nails and the woman become fugitives on the run, and unlikely partners.

But on the road to Jacksonville, where a possible escape awaits, there’s more than one interested party on the pair’s trail, and the glimpse they had of getting away scot free suddenly seems elusive. In the end, Nails must make one final stand for his freedom—or pay with both of their lives.

About the Author


Brian Panowich is an award winning author, a Georgia firefighter, and a father to four incredible children. His first novel, Bull Mountain, was a Los Angeles Times Book Prize finalist, ITW Thriller Award winner for Best First Novel, Southern Book Prize winner, and a finalist for both the Anthony and the Barry Awards. He lives in Georgia with his family.

Praise For…


Praise for Nothing But the Bones

"Brian Panowich goes all-in with Nothing But the Bones, a novel of all that is human: love and friendship, lust and sin, sacrifice and murder. There is profound evil in this story but also enduring goodness, and while not everything is as it appears on the surface, befitting a very satisfying crime story, what is clear from the beginning is that this is a terrific, mesmerizing read that satisfies from beginning to end." –Viet Thanh Nguyen, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Sympathizer

Praise for Brian Panowich and McFalls County

“Jaw-dropping." —Wall Street Journal

“The plotting is skilled, as is the sleuthing, and the landscape is stunning. But it’s the hard-jawed characters, with their tough talk and scarred souls, who really get under your skin.” —The New York Times Book Review on Hard Cash Valley, One of the 10 Best Crime Novels of the Year

"[Panowich] continues to mix crime fiction with a violent family drama, perfectly melding characters with a sense of place.” — Associated Press

“Prose as punchy as rapid-aged whiskey.”—Esquire

“This is country noir with a bite as sharp as a rattler's.” — AARP

"In the vein of Grisham and Burke, Panowich zips readers along with action backed by delightfully rhythmic storytelling.” — Garden and Gun



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250835246
ISBN-10: 1250835240
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: April 16th, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English