The Deepest Kill (A Locard Institute Thriller #3) (Hardcover)

The Deepest Kill (A Locard Institute Thriller #3) By Lisa Black Cover Image
$28.00
Not in Store - Usually Ships in 2-7 Days from Warehouse

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the A Locard Institute Thriller series.

Description


With a duo of complex female protagonists, breakneck plotting, and authenticity informed by her career as a crime scene analyst, New York Times bestselling author Lisa Black’s Locard Institute Thrillers land her in the same league as Tess Gerritsen, Patricia Cornwell, and Kathy Reichs.

Now forensic experts Ellie Carr and Rachael Davies are called to a billionaire’s private compound on Florida’s Gulf Coast to investigate a tragic death amid a dangerous storm of power, deception, and conspiracy…


For software pioneer Martin Post, the third richest man in America, his private compound on the Florida coast is a sunny no-man’s-land separating his family from the rest of the world. Now, expert forensic analysts Ellie Carr and Rachael Davies of the renowned Locard Institute have been summoned to its dark side.

Martin’s pregnant daughter, Ashley, had ventured on a day trip in her motorboat into the Gulf, only to wash up dead on a nearby shore. Although the local coroner determined her death was an accident, Ellie and Rachael soon confirm Martin’s gravest fear: His daughter was murdered. Was it a kidnapping gone wrong? Or something even more brutal? Ashley and her husband, Greg, had been working with Martin on a revolutionary new defense initiative for the US military – could espionage have played a part in her death?  Martin believes Greg is behind the murder, and the spoiled charmer does set off Rachel’s deception radar.  If the widower didn’t kill Ashley himself, why isn’t he more upset that she’s dead?

Drawn into the Posts’ increasingly dangerous family dynamic, Ellie and Rachael must work hard and fast to discover what secrets are buried at the heart of the crime. Because the churning waters of the Gulf are getting rougher. And soon, Ellie and Rachael themselves will be in danger of getting crushed in their depths.

About the Author


Lisa Black is the New York Times bestselling author of the Gardiner and Renner Novels and the Locard Institute Thrillers featuring Dr. Ellie Carr and Dr. Rachael Davies. As a forensic scientist at the Cuyahoga County Coroner's Office, she analyzed gunshot residue on hands and clothing, hairs, fibers, paint, glass, DNA, blood and many other forms of trace evidence, as well as crime scenes. Now she is a latent print examiner and certified crime analyst for the Cape Coral Police Department in Florida, working mostly with fingerprints and crime scenes. She is a member of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences, the International Association for Identification, and the International Association of Bloodstain Pattern Analysts, and has testified in court as an expert witness over 65 times. Her books have been translated into six languages and she was named finalist for the prestigious Sue Grafton Memorial Award for Perish. She lives near Fort Myers, Florida. Visit Lisa Black online at Lisa-Black.com.

Praise For…


Praise for the Locard Institute Thrillers:
 
“Lisa Black writes from her own experience as a forensic scientist, instilling What Harms You with the perfect blend of technical accuracy and polished storytelling. Kathy Reichs and Jeff Lindsay have claimed this turf as their own for years, but Black is every bit their equal.” —BookTrib on What Harms You

“The action is non-stop and the descriptions of crime scene analysis are fascinating and gruesome. With the authentic details and Ellie and Rachael working together, this could be only the beginning of a welcome series.” —Akron Beacon Journal on What Harms You

What Harms You is a terrific, CSI procedural that takes a thoughtful, even-handed view of life and crime-fighting in the 21st century, balancing hot-button topics with common sense approaches.”  —Criminal Element on What Harms You
 
“A brilliant idea and the ultimate locked-mansion mystery – a serial killer possibly on the loose at an elite CSI school – fully realized into a cinematic and riveting page-turner. The oh-so-knowledgeable Lisa Black immerses us in the fascinating science, the deadly secrets, the authentic details, and the personal danger. Fans of Tess Gerritsen and Kathy Reichs will especially be drawn to this compelling and fast-paced novel.” —Hank Phillippi Ryan, USA Today bestselling author on What Harms You
 
“Lisa Black’s return to the Locard Institute in What Harms You is a bona fide page-turner that kept me on the edge of my seat. What a great team Dr. Ellie Carr and Dr. Rachel Davies make. Black knocked it out of the park. The Locard’s in good hands, and so are we.” Tracy Clark, award-winning author of the Cass Raines and Det. Harriet Foster series on What Harms You

"Lisa Black's second Locard Institute novel is clever, chilling, and enormously gripping right up until the very last page. Black combines spot-on forensic detail with empathetic characters I can't wait to see more of--this series tops my list of new favorites." —Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James Novels on What Harms You
 
“Black, who writes elegantly from personal experience as a criminologist herself, has fashioned a wondrously structured tale with the pace and energy of a great crime film.” —BookTrib on Red Flags
 
“This solid series launch from bestseller Black introduces forensics experts Ellie Carr and Rachael Davies…Black packs the novel with fascinating details for crime scene buffs, who will eagerly await the next case for the intrepid CSIs.” —Publishers Weekly on Red Flags
 
“A diabolical plot, the kidnapping of kids, and a zealous lobbying group all play roles in Black's twist-filled narrative. There is more than enough suspense to keep readers fully engaged until the shocking ending.” Booklist on Red Flags
 
“As the pages are turned the tension rises. The investigation is interesting and the detail about forensics is a bonus. The twists offer different red herrings to keep readers guessing.” Crimespree Magazine on Red Flags
 
“While Red Flags is a forensic thriller, it’s also a very clever fair-play mystery with a deeply satisfying ending. Black layers interconnecting mysteries, even as she sensitively explores Ellie and Rachael’s complicated family lives…[and] balances their personal stories perfectly with the suspenseful action.” —Criminal Element on Red Flags
 
"With her first-hand knowledge of forensics added to her skill as a writer, Lisa Black doesn’t miss. Red Flags is a real nail-biter, a can’t-miss thrill ride from start to finish." Jeff Lindsay, creator of DEXTER on Red Flags
 
"She is, quite simply, one of the best storytellers around."—Tess Gerritsen on Red Flags


Product Details
ISBN: 9781496749659
ISBN-10: 1496749650
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: February 20th, 2024
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: A Locard Institute Thriller