Curse of the Night Witch (Paperback)

Curse of the Night Witch Cover Image
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of May 12 8:01pm
(1012)

Description


An #ownvoices fast-paced series starter steeped in Colombian mythology and full of adventure, perfect for fans of Percy Jackson. Filled with fantasy, action, adventure, and an unforgettable trio of friends.

A Seventeen.com Most Anticipated Book of Summer
A Zibby Owens Summer Reading Pick on Good Morning America

On Emblem Island all are born knowing their fate. Their lifelines show the course of their life and an emblem dictates how they will spend it.

Tor Luna was born with a leadership emblem, just like his mother. But he hates his mark and is determined to choose a different path for himself. So, on the annual New Year's Eve celebration, where Emblemites throw their wishes into a bonfire in the hopes of having them granted, Tor wishes for a different power.

The next morning Tor wakes up to discover a new marking on his skin...the symbol of a curse that has shortened his lifeline, giving him only a week before an untimely death. There is only one way to break the curse, and it requires a trip to the notorious Night Witch.

With only his village's terrifying, ancient stories as a guide, and his two friends Engle and Melda by his side, Tor must travel across unpredictable Emblem Island, filled with wicked creatures he only knows through myths, in a race against his dwindling lifeline.

You'll love Curse of the Night Witch if you're looking for: Multicultural books for children (especially Latinx books)Stories based on fascinating mythologyYour next favorite fantasy series

Debut author Aster takes inspiration from Colombian folklore to craft a rousing series opener that's both fast-paced and thrilling. As her protagonists face off against a host of horrors, they learn the value of friendship and explore the possibility of changing one's fate in a world where destiny is predetermined.--Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

Worthy of every magical ounce.--Kirkus Reviews, STARRED review



Product Details
ISBN: 9781728232447
ISBN-10: 1728232449
Publisher: Sourcebooks Young Readers
Publication Date: April 27th, 2021
Pages: 352
Language: English