Black Music Is (Hardcover)

Black Music Is Cover Image
By Marcus Amaker, Nathan Durfee (Illustrator)
Not in Store - Usually Ships in 2-7 Days from Warehouse


"Black Music Is" is a poetic love letter to Black music and history, through the ears of Bebop the cat. The book weaves poetry and pop-surrealist illustration, teaching readers about icons like Big Mama Thornton, BB King, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Max Roach, Prince and Alice Coltrane. It also mentions modern-day musicians Our Native Daughters, Saba, Rapsody, Big Joanie, Black Thought, and more. In the book, Bebop the cat plays records by Black musicians in five genres: blues, hip-hop, rock, bluegrass, and jazz. Follow Bebop on a journey through American music history. Every record takes the cat to a different colorful sonic world. "Black Music Is" is perfect for readers looking to learn more about music, and sharpen their knowledge of Black history. The picture book was written by Marcus Amaker (Charleston, SC's first Poet Laureate) and illustrated by celebrated artist Nathan Durfee.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781737469605
ISBN-10: 173746960X
Publisher: Free Verse, LLC
Publication Date: July 1st, 2021
Pages: 38
Language: English